Books and Book Reviews

Aaj Bhi Khare Hain Talaab
A book by the late Shri Anupam Mishra, now available in Hindi, Bengali, Urdu, Marathi, Gujarati, Punjabi, English AND Russian! ashis posted 4 years 3 months ago

In Aaj Bhi Khare Hain Talaab, Shri Anupam Mishra documents the life and work of several individuals and communities, across the country, in setting up water harvesting and management systems through talaabs (lakes / tanks).

Aaj Bhi Khare Hain Talaab: Anupam Mishra
Dealing with urban waste
While India continues to be besieged by waste, a new book on waste management looks at how a minimal waste society can be created. Amita Bhaduri posted 4 years 6 months ago

When it comes to managing huge piles of waste, Indian metros have a monumental task in hand. As per 2011 figures, Delhi is the biggest waste generator with 6800 tonnes of waste being produced daily.

Pushpa leads the struggle against Bhalaswa landfill that contaminates Delhi's groundwater.
Comics for Change
Dainik Bhaskar's initiative to spread awareness about Sustainable Development Goals through Comics on World Environment Day priyad posted 4 years 10 months ago

“The earth, the air, the land and the water are not an inheritance from our forefathers but on loan from our children. So we have to hand over to them at least as it was handed over to us.” This famous quote of Mahatma Gandhi aptly forms the basis of today’s ever-growing focus on sustainable development and inclusive growth.

Business interests and environmental crisis: A book review
While the environmental crisis threatens to impact the ecology and livelihoods in India, business interests take over sustainable solutions. Aarti Kelkar Khambete posted 4 years 10 months ago

A number of Asian countries are going through environmental crisis. Nowhere is the impact felt so seriously than in India, where the crisis threatens to affect survival. It is also impacting biodiversity, ecology and livelihoods. In this context, it becomes important to understand how nature and the current environmental crisis are being addressed in policy discourses.

Business profits and the environmental crisis (Source: India Water Portal)
Saaf Mathe Ka Samaaj: A treasure of essays on life and water
In our blind pursuit of progress, has the equation between man and nature been lost? Anupam Mishra talks about people, the environment and the mislaid empathy between the two. sabitakaushal posted 5 years 4 months ago

Saaf Mathe Ka Samaaj’ is a compilation of 23 essays on people, land, air and water, on issues and concerns that plague them, and the deep and direct connect between society and the environment they live in. Anupam Mishra is a simple, down to earth man and a true Gandhian.

Saaf mathe ka samaaj': Essays by Anupam Mishra (Source: Anupam Mishra)
Roundtable Conference on 'Innovations in Catalysing Interventions and Data Driven Decision Making for WASH programs'
Roundtable Conference will includes a book launch of 'Is it really clean? Creating a WASH Index' Sambodhi posted 5 years 8 months ago

About the conference

Roundtable Conference and Book Launch
Reflections on managing water: A book review
Scarcity, pollution, inequity, floods and drought -- words that are synonymous with water today. Is the water crisis for real or is it simply a case of mismanagement? sabitakaushal posted 5 years 8 months ago

Water, a valuable resource that is magical and mystical, is both mistreated and misunderstood today. Jacques Yves Cousteau once said, "We convenientl

Water reflections: A new way of thinking & innovation
Reminiscence by the waterside: Book review of Jeevan Leela
A collection of Kaka Kalelkar's thoughts, and snippets from his visits to rivers, ponds, tanks, pools and lakes across the country make one want to travel to these water wonders. sabitakaushal posted 5 years 10 months ago

Water touches our lives in many ways. Our childhood memories are often entwined with the rivers that we have crossed, lakes that we have seen and the ponds that we may have jumped in. In his Bharat Darshan, the author Kaka Kalelkar travels across the length and breadth of the country and takes us to many such places we may have visited but have probably forgotten about.

 Where does a river begin? Does it have an end? Why does it never stop, why does it never rest?
Testing opportunity
sdfsf iwpsuperadmin posted 5 years 11 months ago

sdfddddddddddddddddddddd

Water for All & Other Poems: Poetry with a purpose
A set of poems by G Venkatesh, a researcher on water and sanitation issues, seamlessly bring together important issues concerning water in verse form. sabitakaushal posted 6 years 1 month ago

An engineer or an ecologist talking about water may not cause many heads to turn, but when they do it through poetry, there is a chance that more people will take notice.

Water for all and other Poems